Platforms

Hip hop and street art culture emerged as independent movement from the streets of metropolitan areas. It is still the form of creative expression for the urban way of living. It is subverted and direct art form in recent living circumstances of a pluralistic, diverse and post-migrant society into public discourse. Pottporus e.V. finds impulses in artistic work and develops new platforms for urban art as well as innovative concepts in the field of (inter-)cultural education and urban development.

 Production Space for Urban Arts 

The "Production Space for Urban Arts" in the Flottmann-Hallen Herne is the new platform for urban artists and a groundbreaking concept to develop the Ruhr metropolis into a hotspot for urban arts. Thanks to a state subsidy within the framework of the Neue Künste Ruhr, Pottporus e.V. has succeeded in creating an independent place with the production space to further develop and portray the urban arts in all their forms of expression. The production room is a laboratory, an open space and a creative workshop - exclusively for actors of the Urban Arts. The first residency programme for Urban Arts will start here towards the end of summer of 2020.

 Alter Wartesaal im Bahnhof Herne 

In 2008 Pottporus  opened  the old waiting hall as a place for graffiti and street art that is unique in many ways. Within the Urban Art Festival the Streetart Gallery InFusion, curated by 247, takes place in the hall every year. After reconstruction in 2017 the waiting room became an official venue, which Pottporus continues to use for 2-3 exhibitions per year. Furthermore, the waiting room will temporarily become the Museum for Visual Dissidence, a curatorial project by Robert Kaltenhäuser in cooperation with Pottporus e.V. and the Kulturbüro Herne. > Facebook-Profil

 Die AULA / Young urbane stage

Junges Pottporus is partner of the AULA at the secondary school Crange /Herne, which received its new profile as an urban district stage in 2013. With regular dance theatre projects, battles, workshops, festivals and youth camps, the Young Pottporus contributes significantly to the revival and establishment of AULA as a stage, platform and network for national and regional youth culture. Further cooperation partners of the AULA are the Theater Kohlenpott, the Youth Art School Wanne and the Gospel Project Herne.

Die AULA / Realschule Crange

 ZECHE 1 / Centre  for  Urban Art  (2015–2018) 

As a result of the cooperation with the Schauspielhaus Bochum Renegade in Residence, Pottporus was provided with the historic Waschkaue in Bochum's Prinz-Regent quarter in 2015 - with the aim of anchoring the potential of urban arts in the city. Pottporus is developing the concept of ZECHE 1 as a center for urban art - and took over its artistic direction. For three years, ZECHE 1 developed into an open production, rehearsal and performance venue for the dance company Renegade and other collectives, ensembles and performance groups as well as the center’s interdisciplinary partners such as the Folkwang University of the Arts, Ruhr University Bochum, Sports University Cologne, Bochum University of Applied Sciences and Zukunftsakademie NRW. With urban dance theatre, performances, workshops, debates and festivals, ZECHE 1 brings a broad audience to Bochum-Weitmar without any municipal funding. In 2018 the Schauspielhaus Bochum AöR took over the coordination of ZECHE 1 under the direction of the new artistic director.

 K.HAUS / Kreativ.Quartier Wanne (2013–2016) 

On the initiative of Pottporus, the vacant Karstadt building in the shopping street of Wanne became the KHAUS - a roof for the local and regional cultural and creative industries and an open meeting place in the district. In addition to developing the concept, Pottporus is responsible for the construction of the KHAUS from 2013-2016 and organized the project phases "Culture meets neighbourhood" and "Space - Place - People", with which the house established itself as a place of work, platform and district network among urban art players and the public (funded within the framework of the Kreativ.Quartiere Ruhr via ecce - european centre for creative economy by the Ministry for Family, Children, Youth, Culture and Sport). After the sale of the property by the owner at the end of 2016, the city of Herne and the Herne Economic Development Agency will continue the KHAUS concept on a smaller scale. To the documentation 2013. Dokumentation 2013

PLATTFORMEN 

 Produktionsraum für Urban Arts 

Der "Produktionsraum für Urban Arts" in den Flottmann-Hallen Herne ist die neue Plattform für urbane Künstler*innen und ein wegweisendes Konzept, um die Metropole Ruhr zu einem Hotspot für Urban Arts zu entwickeln. Dank einer Landesförderung im Rahmen der Neuen Künste Ruhr ist es Pottporus e.V. gelungen, mit dem Produktionsraum einen eigenständigen Ort zu schaffen, um die Urban Arts in all ihren Ausdrucksformen weiterzuentwickeln und sichtbar zu machen. 

Der Produktionsraum ist Labor, Freiraum und zur Kreativ-Werkstatt – ausschließlich für Akteur*innen der Urban Arts. Im Spätsommer 2020 startet hier das erste Residenzprogramm für Urban Arts.

 Alter Wartesaal im Bahnhof Herne 

Mit dem Wartesaal öffnet Pottporus 2008 einen in mehrfacher Hinsicht ungewöhnlichen Ort für Graffiti und Streetart. Im Rahmen des Pottporus Festivals findet hier jährlich die Streetart Gallery In_Fusion statt, kuratiert von 247. Nach Umbaumaßnahmen 2017 ist der Wartesaal nun offizieller Veranstaltungsort, den Pottporus weiterhin mit 2–3 Ausstellungen pro Jahr bespielt. Zudem wird der Wartesaal temporär zum Museum für Visuelle Dissidenz, ein kuratorisches Projekt von Robert Kaltenhäuser in Zusammenarbeit mit Pottporus e.V. und dem Kulturbüro Herne. > Facebook-Profil

 Die AULA / Junge urbane Bühne 

Das Junge Pottporus ist Partner der AULA an der Realschule Crange /Herne, die 2013 ihr neues Profil als urbane Stadtteil-Bühne erhält. Mit regelmäßig veranstalteten Tanztheater-Projekten, Battles, Workshops, Festivals und Jugend-Camps trägt das Junge Pottporus maßgeblich zur Belebung und Etablierung der AULA als Bühne, Plattform und Netzwerk für die über- und regionale Jugendkultur bei. Weitere Kooperationspartner der AULA sind etwa die Jugendkunstschule Wanne, ENSAMPLE und das Gospel-Projekt Herne. Die AULA / Realschule Crange

 ZECHE 1 / Zentrum  für  urbane Kunst  (20152018) 

In Folge der Kooperation mit dem Schauspielhaus Bochum Renegade in Residence wird Pottporus 2015 die geschichtsträchtige Waschkaue im Bochumer Quartier Prinz-Regent zur Verfügung gestellt – mit dem Ziel, das Potenzial der urbanen Künste in der Stadt zu verankern. Pottporus erarbeitet das Konzept der ZECHE 1 als Zentrum für urbane Kunst – und übernimmt dessen künstlerische Leitung. 3 Jahre lang entwickelt sich die ZECHE 1 zum offenen Produktions-, Probe- und Spielort für die Tanzkompagnie Renegade, über- und regionale Kollektive, Ensembles und Performancegruppen sowie die interdisziplinären Partner des Zentrums wie die Folkwang Universität der Künste, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Sporthochschule Köln, Hochschule Bochum und Zukunftsakademie NRW. Mit urbanem Tanztheater, Performances, Workshops, Debatten und Festivals holt die ZECHE 1 ein breites Publikum nach Bochum-Weitmar, ohne städtische Förderung. 2018 übernimmt das Schauspielhaus Bochum AöR die Koordination der ZECHE 1 unter Leitung der neuen Intendanz.

 K.HAUS / Kreativ.Quartier Wanne (20132016) 

Auf Initiative von Pottporus wird das leerstehende Karstadt-Gebäude in der Wanner Einkaufsstraße zum K.HAUS – zum Dach für die lokale wie regionale Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft und zum offenen Begegnungsort im Stadtteil. Neben der Konzeptentwicklung verantwortet Pottporus von 2013–2016 den Aufbau des KHAUS und veranstaltet die Projektphasen „Kultur trifft Quartier“ und „Raum – Ort – Mensch“, mit denen sich das Haus bei Akteuren urbaner Kunst und in der Öffentlichkeit als Arbeitsstätte, Plattform und Stadtteil-Netzwerk etabliert (gefördert im Rahmen der Kreativ.Quartiere Ruhr über ecce – european centre für creative economy durch das Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport). Nach dem Verkauf der Immobilie durch den Eigentümer Ende 2016 führen die Stadt Herne und Wirtschaftsförderung Herne das Konzept K.HAUS in kleinerem Rahmen fort. Zur Dokumentation 2013

© Pottporus e.V. / 2020