OPEN CALL "The Big 5"

CALL CHOREOGRAPHY
 

Renegade / Pottporus eV (Germany) and SILK Fluegge (Austria) are looking for choreographers (international) for the project “The Big 5”.

 

267777711_1814072388783042_3500543117081660221_n.jpg

Background // Renegade and SILK Fluegge are united by their (socio-) cultural and artistic background, both are performance and dance companies located in urban and industrial cities - Linz shaped by the blast furnaces of steel production and the Ruhr area by the mining conveyor systems. In addition, both collectives stand for a strong urban dance aesthetic that has arisen in the interplay of advancing urbanization and technical evolution. www.silk.at  // www.pottporus.de
 

Application // For the application we ask for a short description of your own work (maximum 1 A4 page) and another page with the naming of the chosen classic, a conceptual sketch for the implementation with the number of performers (maximum 1 A4 page). Links to previous work should be included in the self-presentation.

 

After an initial review, we invite selected choreographers to an application meeting. The productions are created in the Linz KLIScope by SILK Fluegge and in the Flottmann-Hallen in Herne by Pottporus eV


Applications by 01/30/22; 12:00 CET  big5.audition@gmail.com

The project // The closings of the cultural institutions in lockdown have inspired us to bring formats of contemporary urban dance, such as hip hop, back to where it originated - onto the streets and public spaces. Without a glorified look back, what urban / contemporary dance stands for today should be included. As a reference to the stage, the works should be comments or up-to-date answers to five great classical choreographies. Such as: “Le sacre du printemps”, “The Nutcracker” and “Swan Lake”, “Kontakthof”, “West Side Story”.
 

Prerequisites // We are looking for 4 choreographers with a clear connection to urban dance who develop a 10-20 minute choreography with 4-8 dancers in public space, interdisciplinary implementations are also desired. The interpretations of the individual choreographies can be openly interpreted. We provide a fee of 5,000 € (flat rate) for each choreopgrapher. The dancers come from the ensembles of SILK Fluegge and RENEGADE. The rehearsal period is May / June 2022 with premieres in July in Austria and in autumn in Germany.
 

No upcoming events at the moment

OPEN CALL „The Big 5“

CALL CHOREOGRAFIE
 

Renegade/Pottporus e.V. (Deutschland) und SILK Fluegge (Österreich) suchen Choreograf:innen (international) für das Projekt „The Big 5“.

 

Hintergrund // Renegade und SILK Fluegge eint ihr (sozio-)kultureller und künstlerischer Hintergrund, beides sind Performance- und Tanzcompanys, die in urbanen und industriellen Städten verortet sind – Linz geprägt durch die Hochöfen der Stahlproduktion und das Ruhrgebiet durch die Förderanlagen des Bergbaus. Darüber hinaus stehen beide Kollektive für eine starke urbane Tanzästhetik, die im Wechselspiel von voranschreitender Urbanisierung und technischer Evolution entstanden ist. www.silk.at  // www.pottporus.de
 

Bewerbung // Für die Bewerbung bitten wir um eine kurze Darstellung der eigenen Arbeit (höchstens 1 A4-Seite) und eine weitere Seite mit der Nennung des Klassikers, einer Konzeptionsskizze für die Umsetzung mit Nennung der Anzahl der Performer:innen (höchstens 1 A4-Seite). Links zu den bisherigen Arbeiten sollten in der Selbstdarstellung enthalten sein.

 

Nach einer ersten Sichtung laden wir ausgewählte Choreograf:innen zu einem Bewerbungstreffen ein. Die Produktionen entstehen im Linzer KLIScope von SILK Fluegge und in den Flottmann-Hallen Herne von Pottporus e.V.


Bewerbungen bis 30.01.22; 12:00 CET an big5.audition@gmail.com

Das Projekt // Die Schließungen der Kulturinstitutionen im Lockdown haben uns dazu inspiriert, Formate des zeitgenössischen urbanen Tanzes, wie den Hip Hop, wieder dorthin zu bringen, wo er entstanden ist – auf die Straßen und öffentlichen Plätze. Ohne verklärten Blick zurück soll das, wofür urban/zeitgenössischer Tanz heute steht, einbezogen werden. Als Referenz zur Bühne sollen die Arbeiten Kommentare oder zeitaktuelle Antworten auf fünf große klassische Choreografien sein. Wie z.B. : „Le Sacre de printemps“, „Der Nussknacker“ und „Schwanensee“, „Kontakthof“, „West Side Story“.
 

Voraussetzungen // Wir suchen 4 Choreograf:innen mit einem klaren Bezug zum urbanen Tanz, die eine 10-20minütige Choreografie mit 4-8 Tänzer:innen im öffentlichen Raum entwickeln, auch interdisziplinäre Umsetzungen sind erwünscht. Die Interpretationen der einzelnen Choreografien können dabei offen ausgelegt werden. Pro Choregraf:in stellen wir ein Honorar von 5.000€ zur Verfügung (pauschal). Die Tänzer:innen kommen aus den Ensembles von SILK Fluegge und RENEGADE. Der Probenzeitraum liegt im Mai/Juni 2022 mit einer Premiere im Juli in Österreich und im Herbst in Deutschland.