back to the roots

Choreography by Niels "Storm" Robitzky

Choreographer Niels "Storm" Robitzky goes back to the hip-hop roots in Germany. More specifically, to the beginning of the 80`s, when Breaking caused a sensation with spectacular moves in the pedestrian zones of the big cities. And when the ghetto blaster becomes a trademark for a cultural movement.

After the first boom, breaking disappears from the media and the streets. Where does breaking stand today and how has its aesthetic evolved? Can the spirit of the early years be revived, or did it never disappear?

Niels "Storm" Robitzky - a living legend in the Urban Dance scene - and 6 international dancers goes on a journey through time and catapults the audience directly into the Golden Age of Hip Hop.


 

​Choreography: Niels „Storm“ Robitzky Choreographic assistance Christian Zacharas Dance: Viola Luise Barner, Souhail Jalti, Kleson Silva Moreira, Yasmin Münter, Solomon Quaynoo, Rymon Zacharei   Light design: Moritz Bütow Sound: Julian Büsselberg, Malte Senske (SONIC MOOD) Stage: Aaron Stratmann, Matthias Brinkhoff, Bianca Benzer

 

Supported by the Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia

​​

back to the roots

RENEGADE

Ein HipHop-Tanztheaterstück von Niels "Storm" Robitzky

Zurück zu den HipHop-Wurzeln in Deutschland - genauer gesagt zum Anfang der 80er, als Breaking mit spektakulären Moves in den Fußgängerzonen der Großstädte für Furore sorgt. Und als der Ghettoblaster zum Markenzeichen und Rap zum Soundtrack für eine kulturelle Bewegung wird.


Nach dem ersten Boom verschwindet der Tanz aus den Medien und von den Straßen. Wo steht er heute und wie hat sich seine Ästhetik weiterentwickelt? Lässt sich der Spirit der Anfangsjahre wiederbeleben, oder war er nie verschwunden?

Break-Legende Niels „Storm“ Robitzky begibt sich mit 6 internationalen Tänzer*innen der verschiedenen urbanen Stile auf Zeitreise und katapultiert das Publikum direkt ins Golden Age of HipHop.

Choreografie Niels „Storm“ Robitzky Tanz Manuela Bolegue Yamokon, Souhail Jalti, Joëlle Karfich, Solomon Quaynoo, Wilhelmina Stark, Rymon Zacharei  Choreografische Assistenz Christian ROBOZEE Zacharas Licht Moritz Bütow Sound Julian Büsselberg, Malte Selke (SONIC MOOD) Bühnenbild Aaron Stratmann, Matthias Brinkhoff, Bianca Benzer Produktionsleitung Anna-Lena Werner Trailer Young-Soo Chang

Gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

 

________

Premiere im Rahmen der RUHR GAMES 21 // Gastspiele u.a.: Oberhausener Kultursommer 2021, "Deutsch-türkische Kulturnacht" Ruhr Museum/Stiftung Zollverein 2021, Tanzfestival Staatstheater Saarland 2022

Booking Spielzeit 2022/23

Ansprechpartnerin: Anna-Lena Werner, a.werner@pottporus.de

Aufführungen in- & outdoor möglich

Gastspielförderung durch das Kultursekretariat NRW  in der Sparte Zeitgenössischer Tanz >>  www.kultursekretariat.de